| |
Missouri Department of Transportation

Social Media Facebook Twitter Flickr Blog YouTube RSS

Motor Carrier Services



 

MoDOT Motor Carrier Services helps carriers get the information, credentials and permits needed to start and continue a carrier business in Missouri.  We also enforce safety and economic regulations to help make our highways safe and fair places to earn a living.

The tools on these pages help both beginners and seasoned trucking companies operate safely and profitably.

 

       Gateway Arch

Getting Started


Important Resources


Forms and Manuals


Forms and Manuals


Forms and Manuals


MoDOT Carrier Express allows any account holder to order trip and fuel permits online. If you have a userID and password for the MoDOT Carrier Express system, you're ready to order. Go to http://www.modot.org/mce. If you need help, click here for the online process.

 

FIRST TIME 72 HOUR TRIP/FUEL PERMIT:

If you are a new carrier in Missouri, do not have MoDOT Carrier Express access, or have never registered with Missouri, the first thing you need to do is fill out the Customer Information Form (click on the button below). Click "Submit" or print and fax the form to our office, your permit will be processed in our office and you will be called for payment information. Within one or two work days you will be sent a userid and password.  In the future you can order permits online 24/7. 

 

For additional 72 Hour Trip & Fuel permits, click on the Customer Information Form below and answer the four initial questions. If you have received 72 Hour Trip or Fuel Permits in the past you will answer Yes to the first question, you ARE a MoDOT Carrier Express Customer.

 

 

Forms and Manuals

Motor Carriers who haul loads that exceed Missouri's legal weight and size requirements must obtain Oversize Overweight permits.

Oversize Overwieght truckOSOW permits give specific routes and special requirements the carrier must follow, when using the Missouri state highway system. Please note: MoDOT takes seriously its responsibility to keep motor carriers' account information private. We can only discuss accounts with those people appointed as official contacts by the companies we serve.

In the International Registration Plan, a motor carrier purchases a single, apportioned license plate in their base state. The plate is honored by all states and most Canadian provinces. Apportioned license plate fees are distributed based on the number of miles the equipment travels in each state or province.

GETTING STARTED

SafeStart – interactive tool to show needed credentials and programs
Frequently Asked Questions New IFTA/IRP Account Guide

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

FORMS AND LINKS

RECORD KEEPING

USER GUIDES FOR FILING - ONLINE INSTRUCTIONS

ANNUAL RENEWAL INFORMATION

IRP Renewal Schedule

Registration Period
File By
Pay By
Plate Expires
January 1 to December 31
October 1*
December 1*
December 31
April 1 to March 31
January 1*
March 1*
March 31
July 1 to June 30
April 1*
June 1*
June 30
October 1 to September 30
August 1*
September 1*
September 30
 

Late filing penalty

=$100

Late Payment penalty = $50 per truck, to a maximum of $150

*First business day of the month

THE INTERNATIONAL REGISTRATION PLAN (IRP)

IFTA is an agreement among all states (except Alaska and Hawaii) and Canadian provinces (except Northwestern Territories, Nunavut and Yukon) to simplify the reporting of fuel used by motor carriers operating in more than one jurisdiction.

It allows motor carriers to obtain a single fuel license and set of decals. Carriers file quarterly fuel use tax returns with their base state or province. The base state transfers payments to states or provinces the carrier traveled (or obtains refunds) based on the amount of fuel purchased and miles traveled within each jurisdiction.

GETTING STARTED

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

IMPORTANT RESOURCES

ONLINE PROCESSING GUIDES

QUARTERLY FUEL TAX FILE DATES

Quarterly Fuel Tax File Dates


QUARTER

   REPORTING   PERIOD

DUE DATE

1

January - March

 April 30

2

April - June

 July 31

3

July - September

 October 31

4

October - December

 January 31

 

FORMS

IFTA / IRP ACCOUNT GUIDE

Dump TruckFor-hire motor carriers transporting property or passengers in intrastate commerce (wholly within) are required to apply for authority to operate in Missouri. The registration process promotes motor carriers safety and, because it requires continuous filing of insurance, their economic health.

 

 

 

 

 

 

GETTING STARTED

Who Needs Intrastate Authority?
All for-hire motor carriers transporting property or passengers in intrastate commerce (wholly within) are required to apply for authority to operate in Missouri.

Who is Exempt from Intrastate Operating Authority?
A complete list of exemptions can be found in Missouri Revised Statute 390.030.

How do I get Intrastate Operating Authority?
To obtain intrastate operating authority, you must obtain a USDOT number, complete a MO-1 application and submit proof of insurance.  An annual license fee of $10 is required if a carrier is not required to participate in the Unified Carrier Registration program. Carriers transporting passengers must also submit financial statements and a formal tariff of rates and charges. You must also have system in place to comply with safety regulations.

Click Here to see Intrastate Motor Carrier Insurance Requirements.

How do I renew my Intrastate Operating Authority?
Renew your annual license decal for operating authority by logging into MoDOT Carrier Express at www.modot.org/mce. Click Here for instructions to file electronically.

If you file and pay UCR fees, you are not required to renew your Intrastate Operating Authority.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

IMPORTANT RESOURCES

FORMS AND MANUALS

Apply for Missouri Operating Authority

MO-1 Application

MO-1 Application Instructions

Purchase Annual or Temporary Credentials/Permits

2014 B-1R Form - Online Fillable & Calculated

2014 B-1R Form - Print & Fill

2015 B-1R Form - Online Fillable & Calculated

2015 B-1R Form - Print & Fill

B-1R Form Instructions

Click Here for instructions to file your B-1R electronically.

Apply for a Housemover License:

HML-1 and HML-2 Form Instructions

HML-1 and HML-2 Housemover License Application

Other Forms:

MCS-150 Application for USDOT Number

Application to Discontinue Service

Name or Address Change Form


 

Two trucksUnified Carrier Registration Agreement is a base-state system for registering interstate motor carriers, motor private carriers of property, freight forwarders, brokers and leasing companies. Annual registration fees fund state motor carrier safety programs and enforcement.

 

 

 

 

 

 

GETTING STARTED

What is UCR?
Unified Carrier Registration is a base state registration program for payment of registration fees.

Who Needs UCR?
The UCR Agreement applies to  the following types of operations of passenger and property transportation in interstate commerce:
(1) Motor carrier;
(2) Motor private carrier of property;
(3) Freight forwarder;
(4) Broker; and
(5) Leasing company

How do I register for UCR?
If you have an active account with MoDOT Motor Carrier Services (MCS) you can log onto Motor Carrier Express at www.modot.org/mce to register and pay UCR fees electronically. Click Here for instructions to file electronically.

If you are not an MCS customer please fill out a UCR Registration Form located in the Forms and Manuals section below to register and pay UCR fees.

The Unified Carrier Registration is good for one calendar year. UCR must be renewed annually.

How much does UCR cost?
The cost of UCR is determined by the number of commercial motor vehicles used.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

IMPORTANT RESOURCES

FORMS AND MANUALS

MoDOT Motor Carrier Service's Safety & Compliance section encourages compliance with Missouri State Statutes and Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations through education and enforcement.

SAFE ROAD TO SUCCESS!

Are you new to the trucking industry?  Are you expanding your business or making changes to your operation and need to know which safety regulations may apply to you?  Have you been in business for a while and just want to confirm that you are following all the rules for peace of mind?  If you answered yes to any of these questions, you have come to the right place.

Completing the SafeStart webtool is your first step towards maintaining a safe and successful operation.  By answering a few simple questions, the tool will deliver a report tailored to your business that identifies all of the regulations and programs that you will need to comply with.

 

SAFETY AND COMPLIANCE MANUAL

Safety Compliance Manual by chapter (includes forms)

SKILL PERFORMANCE & MEDICAL WAIVER

Prospective drivers who do not meet the physical qualifications stated in the federal motor carrier safety regulations can request an exemption to work in Missouri.  MoDOT can grant a medical exemption for intrastate commercial drivers by issuing a Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE) certificate if the individual meets alternate standards which satisfy the department that the applicant can safely operate a commercial vehicle.  Drivers must apply either on their own or jointly with a sponsoring employer.

MoDOT can only issue SPE Certificates to applicants who are not physically qualified because of limb amputation, limb impairment, vision impairment, or insulin treated diabetes mellitus.  If a person is not physically qualified to drive a commercial motor vehicle for any other cause or reason, MoDOT cannot issue that person a SPE Certificate.

MoDOT offers this program for intrastate drivers only.  Anyone seeking a medical exemption for interstate transportation, or to drive across any state boundary, must submit an application to the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) instead.  Please visit FMCSA for more information.

MoDOT may waive some state application requirements if an applicant for an intrastate SPE Certificate already possesses a valid interstate SPE Certificate, vision exemption or diabetes exemption issued by FMCSA.  See the instruction and application forms for details.

Please contact our office if you have questions, or need additional forms or information relating to an application for issuance of a SPE Certificate for a Missouri intrastate driver.

Call toll-free, 1-866-831-6277 and ask to speak with the medical exemption program specialist.

Original documents of all forms must be submitted to MoDOT.  We cannot accept copies or faxes.

Vision Impairment

Insulin Treated Diabetes Mellitus

Limb Impairment or Amputation

Other public agencies offer assistance to people with disabilities.  See these websites:

SAFETY AUDIT PREPARATION

"The best time to plant a tree was twenty years ago.  The second best time is now".

Though most of you are not in the business of growing trees, there is a great deal of truth in this adage that speaks to the planning and preparation required for passing a safety audit.  From driver qualifications to drug and alcohol testing, to equipment maintenance and hours of service reporting, to everything in between, preparing for a safety audit requires a firm understanding of the regulations and a strong commitment to safe operating practices every day.

Don't wait for your safety audit to be scheduled to begin familiarizing yourself with the rules.  Start preparing now by using the tools and guidance provided below and be confident that you are successfully managing the safety of your company.

Related Resources

 

SAFETY REGULATIONS

QUICK LINKS

HazMat PlacardsTransporters of Hazardous Waste (includes waste oil, combustible liquids, corrosives, poisons/ toxins, flammable liquids, flammable solids, PCB's and infectious waste) must obtain a Hazardous Waste Transporter License. The license issued is valid for one year and helps ensure environmental protection through proper disposal of waste.

 

 

 

 

GETTING STARTED

Who Needs a Hazardous Waste Transporter License?
All carriers who transport hazardous waste, used oil, or infectious waste in Missouri.

How do I get a Hazardous Waste Transporter License?
To apply for a Hazardous Waste Transporter License,  email or fax a completed new customer form to Motor Carrier Services. We will respond with a user ID and password to MoDOT Carrier Express. You may then complete the HW-1 application form electronically. The license is valid for one year from the date of issuance. Or, you may fax, email or mail a completed HW-1 application to Motor Carrier Services.

Click Here to see Hazardous Waste Motor Carrier Insurance Requirements.

How do I renew my Hazardous Waste License?
Your Hazardous Waste Transporter License is valid for one year from the date of issuance. To file a renewal, log into MoDOT Carrier Express at www.modot.org/mce. File your renewal at least 60 days prior to expiration to ensure timely renewal. Or, you may fax, email or mail a completed HW-1 application to Motor Carrier Services.

How do I add or replace vehicles on my current License?
To add vehicles, replace vehicles or request a temporary throughout the year, log into MoDOT Carrier Express at www.modot.org/mce to complete an electronic HW-2 form. Or, you may fax, email or mail a completed HW-2 application to Motor Carrier Services.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

IMPORTANT RESOURCES

FORMS AND MANUALS

Waste TiresTransporters of Waste Tires (tires that are no longer suitable for their intended purpose because of wear, damage, or defect) must obtain a Waste Tire Hauler Permit. The license/permit issued is valid for one year and helps ensure environmental protection through proper disposal of waste.

 

 

 

GETTING STARTED

Who Needs a Waste Tire Transporter Permit?
All carriers who transport waste tires for profit within Missouri are required to obtain a Waste Tire Transporter Permit.

How do I get a Waste Tire Transporter Permit?
To apply for a Waste Tire Transporter Permit,  email or fax a completed new customer form to Motor Carrier Services. We will respond with a user ID and password to MoDOT Carrier Express. You may then complete the WT-1 application form electronically. The license is valid for one year from the date of issuance. Or, you may fax, email or mail a completed WT-1 application to Motor Carrier Services.

How do I renew my Waste Tire Transporter Permit?
Your Waste Tire Transporter Permit is valid for one year from the date of issuance. To file a renewal, log into MoDOT Carrier Express at www.modot.org/mce. File your renewal at least 60 days prior to expiration to ensure timely renewal. Or, you may fax, email or mail a completed WT-1 application to Motor Carrier Services.

How do I add or replace vehicles on my current Permit?
To add vehicles, replace vehicles or request a temporary throughout the year, log into MoDOT Carrier Express at www.modot.org/mce to complete an electronic WT-2 form. Or, you may fax, email or mail a completed WT-2 application to Motor Carrier Services.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

IMPORTANT RESOURCES

FORMS AND MANUALS

moving boxesFor-hire motor carriers transporting household goods within Missouri are required to obtain intrastate operating authority. The registration process promotes motor carriers safety and, because it requires continuous filing of insurance, their economic health and public protection.

 

 

 

 

  For Consumers


For Movers

 

 

Motor Carrier Services offers free seminars throughout the state to help motor carriers learn more about operating commercial motor vehicles safely. Educational opportunities include: General Safety Training, Motor Carrier Credentials Training, CSA, SafeStart, Passenger Vehicle Training, Hazardous Materials and Security Training, and Agricultural Truck Safety

 

GENERAL SAFETY TRAINING

An in-depth look at safety regulations and recordkeeping requirements for motor carriers. Improve safety management. Update your knowledge. Approximately 4 hours

Training schedule

MOTOR CARRIER CREDENTIALS TRAINING

Motor carriers need certificates, licenses, permits - all kinds of credentials. Learn what you need to do to get everything you need to operate legally in Missouri and other states, how to renew and how to handle fuel tax filing. Save time and money using MoDOT Carrier Express to conduct business online. Approximately 3 hours.

Please register. Classes with low registration rates may be canceled and only those registered will be notified.

Training schedule

CSA

Learn how the Comprehensive Safety Analysis (CSA) behavior-based approach changes the way motor carriers safety records are evaluated. Find what your company can do to earn better rankings.

Training schedule

The documents are provided in Acrobat Reader format. Free Acrobat Reader download PDF Icon

 
MoDOT Carrier Express
spacer
Truck ParkingTraveler InformationCSAHousehold Goods
spacer
File A Complaint
spacer
MCSisMoving
spacer
Contact Us
spacer
MCS Toolbox
News
Maps
Training
FAQ
Links
spacer
How Do I?
spacer
Stay Connected
Email Updates
MCS Facebook

Northwest Northeast Kansas City Central St. Louis Southwest Southeast

About Us
Spacer
How Do I...
Spacer
Contact Us
Spacer
Missouri Department of Transportation
Central Office
105 W. Capitol Avenue
Jefferson City, MO 65102
1-888-ASK-MODOT (275-6636)
1-866-831-6277 (Motor Carrier Services)
Drivers License Offices
horz_bar
| | |
Missouri State Government
 
© 2013 Missouri Department of Transportation. All Rights Reserved.   Privacy Policy.