
Transporting Farm Equipment 
Between Missouri and Illinois

Effective January 11, 2011, the bridge that carries U.S. 60/62 between Illinois and Missouri will close to all traffic. 
Until the structure is strengthened and the bridge is open to traffic, farmers must transport field equipment 
across the Mississippi River by another route. 

Federal law does not allow farm equipment to operate under its own power on the interstate, so farm equip-
ment transported on interstate highways must be loaded onto a trailer. When tranporting such equipment from 
one state to another, those seeking permits must follow all requirements for each state. 

Many farmers own commercial motor vehicles and might want to attempt hauling field equipment 
themselves. Others will seek out commercial haulers to drive the equipment from one state to the 
other. Hauling your own equipment involves all of the following:

•	 “F” License plate – Farmers who enjoy Missouri’s “F” plate exemptions should know that the exemptions 
	 apply only within Missouri’s borders. If you use an “F”-plated truck in Illinois, all commercial motor 
	 vehicle safety regulations apply. Never use an “F”-plated vehicle to haul for hire or to carry someone 		
	 else’s property
•	 Vehicle Registration - An apportioned license plate is required if hauling for hire or hauling someone 		
	 else’s property across state lines using a commercial motor vehicle. Obtain this from your home state. 
•	 Fuel Tax – All loads hauled in commerce (including farm movements) between two or more states 
	 require filing special tax forms and the payment of fuel tax. Obtain a license from your home state.
•	 72-Hour Trip and Fuel Permits can be used instead of obtaining an interstate motor carrier 
	 license plate and fuel tax license; however these must be purchased from both Mo. and Ill. for 			 
	 every 72-hour period of travel. Illinois has a limit of three trip permits per year.  Also, all of the 			 
	 items in the remainder of this list apply.  
•	 Unified Carrier Registration – All commercial motor vehicles that operate between two or more 			 
	 states must participate in the Unified Carrier Registration plan. An annual fee is required. 
•	 US DOT Number– Loads hauled in commerce between two or more states require a USDOT 			 
	 number and a safety audit. The number and company name must be displayed.
•	 Interstate Regulations include commercial driver’s license, logbook, equipment maintenance, 			 
	 driver information files, drug and alcohol testing and other requirements.
•	 An oversized and/or overweight permit-fromboth states - is required when a truck and load measure:
		  o  More than 8’ 6” wide
		  o  More than 14’ tall when loaded
		  o  More than 53’ in length (truck, trailer and load)
		  o  More than 80,000 lbs. in total (Gross Vehicle Weight)
•	 Oversized and overweight permits require proof of insurance with liability levels that begin at 			 
	 $750,000, depending on the situation. 
Citations and fines are assessed for violations.

Unless a farmer is already established as an interstate motor carrier, it is likely 
to be less costly and more convenient to hire a commercial motor carrier to 
transport equipment across the interstate bridge.

For more information, call the Motor Carrier Services division of the Missouri Department of 
Transportation toll-free at 1-866-831-6277. Press 0 and ask for Kim Russell.

The Dorena-Hickman Ferry carries cars, trucks and farm equipment across the Mississippi River between Mis-
souri and Kentucky. Visit www.dorena-hickmanferryboat.com or call (731) 693-0210.


